Appreciation Gala

Mark Andresky and Mitch Brown with Jane Millar

This year’s Appreciation Gala was held from 5:00pm to 6:30pm on Thursday, May 25  at Palette Bistro in Petoskey.
Each  year seems to be more exciting than the last. What great fun everyone has gathering  in celebration of
another year well-done. With so many individuals who give of their time and money to make
Northern Community Mediation a dynamic non-profit organization, it becomes more and more difficult
to select those individuals who will be recognized for their contributions.

Having said that, this year’s award recipients did stand out.

Tina Verlinden received the Rookie Mediator of the Year Award, which goes to a mediator who has completed
the Forty-Hour Training or has come to Northern Community Mediation from another Citizen Dispute
Resolution Center within the past two years.

Lee Kramer received the Veteran Mediator of the Year Award, which is presented to an established mediator who goes above
and beyond. This is a person who does things such as re-arranging his/her schedule so that a last minute
mediation can be scheduled.

Mark Andresky and Mitch Brown were recognized as the Advocates of the Year. Their expertise and the time they spent are
what made locating and purchasing the new office condominium unit possible. It could not have happened without their efforts.

Connie Saltonstall was recognized for her 20 years of service to NCM. Not only has she been a mediator for NCM
for those 20 years,she has also served on the Board of Directors.

Since 2005, the Leah Award has been presented to an individual who is dedicated to and advocates for Northern Community
Mediation and the mediation process in general. This award  is not necessarily awarded every year. The staff of NCM
felt strongly that there was a more than worthy candidate for this award to be presented. For the past 20 years, Dan McGuire
has been available day and night to problem solve and fix any technological issues and challenges faced by NCM.