Appreciation Gala

Appreciation Gala

Northern Community Mediation will hold its Appreciation Gala from 5:P00pm to 7:00pm on Thursday, May 16. At this event, the annual awards will be presented: Advocate of the Year, Veteran Mediator of the Year, Rookie Mediator of the Year, and perhaps the prestigious Leah Award.

The Advocate of the Year recognizes the individual or organization that is a voice in promoting mediation. The Veteran Mediator of the Year is presented to an individual who not only has excellent skills but also goes out of his/her way to be available for mediating. The Rookie Mediator of the Year possesses the same traits as the Veteran Mediator of the Year with one exception. This award goes to a mediator who has been mediating for NCM less than two years.

The Leah Award is one that is not necessarily given annually. It is reserved for an individual who has advocated for mediation over the years, has been supportive of NCM, and has promoted mediation creatively.

The 2017 recipients were as follows:

  • Veteran Mediator of the Year – Dick Hendrian
  • Rookie Mediator of the Year – Ed Cole
  • Advocate of the Year – Jim Raber

Pictured left to right:P Hugh Conklin, Kirstyn Horan, The Honorable Joe Hayes, Liisa Morley, Dick Hendrian, Jim Raber, Ed Cole

For a complete list of past recipients, go to Awards on the NCM website.